Forward Prizes for Poetry Shortlist 2019

2019 Forward Prizes
Shortlist announcement


Forward Prizes for Poetry 2019 Judges

We’re delighted to announce the 15 poets shortlisted for the Forward Prizes for Poetry 2019.

The 28th annual Forward Prizes will be awarded on 20th October 2019 at the Royal Festival Hall, Southbank Centre.

See the nation’s most coveted poetry prizes awarded live on stage by the chair of the jury Shahidha Bari and hear readings from the 15 poets shortlisted.

Book Tickets to the ceremony and readings on 20th October 2019:





Writer and broadcaster Shahidha Bari chairs the Forward Prizes for Poetry 2019 judging panel. She is joined by poets Tara Bergin, Andrew McMillan, and Carol Rumens, alongside Jamie Andrews, Head of Culture and Learning at the British Library.